Andis Blade - difference between 7 and 7F

Grooming is an important part of looking after your Schnauzer. Regular grooming will help keep your Schnauzer healthy and comfortable and you will spot potential problems early. Whether you decide to clip or strip your Schnauzer, help is on hand. Schnauzers are generally a non-shedding breed and will require a fair amount of grooming to get rid of dead hair.
LotSale16
Puppy
First Name: Kim

Andis Blade - difference between 7 and 7F

Post by LotSale16 »

Hello - I am new to home grooming. Can anyone tell me what the difference is between a 7 and a 7F blade? I intend to clip my dog and have the Andis 2-speed clipper with the standard 10 blade. Which other blade should I purchase to complete the set? I am stuck on the 7 or 7F.

Do I need to get a comb guide too?

Any help you could give me would be appreciated. Also, where is the best company to purchase these items from.

Thank you in advance.
Robin black mini
First Name: Jo
Dog #1: Robin
is a: Black Mini Bitch
Born: 13 Dec 2014
Dog #2: Stanley st poodle
Born: 24 Nov 2012

Re: Andis Blade - difference between 7 and 7F

Post by Robin black mini »

I strip,don't clip but did find these links you may find useful..says you need both the 7 and 7 f..
Here is the andis blade guide..

https://www.christiesdirect.com/en/News ... /n-35.aspx

And from groomers net forum..
http://www.groomers.net/discus/messages ... 171898678q
And here..

https://www.amazon.com/ask/questions/Tx ... rt=helpful

http://diydoggrooming.com/clipper-blades/

So I'd start with the seven..if I were to clip.id use a ten for face feet and ears..
the F after the blade is for finishing ,leaving a smoother finish to the clip.

Before you splash out on buying clipping gear,would you not consider going the stripping route?
Last edited by Robin black mini on 01 Jul 2018, 16:52, edited 1 time in total.
Oscar 12345
First Name: Julie
Dog #1: Oscar RIP Sweety
is a: P/S Mini Dog
Born: 21 Dec 2002
Dog #2: Otto