4 month puppy fur - total newb

Grooming is an important part of looking after your Schnauzer. Regular grooming will help keep your Schnauzer healthy and comfortable and you will spot potential problems early. Whether you decide to clip or strip your Schnauzer, help is on hand. Schnauzers are generally a non-shedding breed and will require a fair amount of grooming to get rid of dead hair.
FosterCitySchnauzer
First Name: Esjay

4 month puppy fur - total newb

Post by FosterCitySchnauzer »

Hello,

We just got 4 month old Merlin for Christmas and I was planning on hand stripping. I read stuff that made me think at this age she would have tons of fur just popping out easily but when I pull it but it really is terribly difficult and I wonder. - is it possible for Schnauzers to only have one coat? I can’t tell any difference between a top and undercoat. Or maybe it just hasn’t grown in yet? It’s getting really long but I’m terrified of clipping it and ruining her wore coat. Not sure what to do from this point, I really prefer more natural looking/longer cuts but she’s getting pretty straggly?
Oscar 12345
First Name: Julie
Dog #1: Oscar RIP Sweety
is a: P/S Mini Dog
Born: 21 Dec 2002
Dog #2: Otto
is a: B/S Mini Dog
Born: 04 Jul 2017

Re: 4 month puppy fur - total newb

Post by Oscar 12345 »