Novice - Help Please

Grooming is an important part of looking after your Schnauzer. Regular grooming will help keep your Schnauzer healthy and comfortable and you will spot potential problems early. Whether you decide to clip or strip your Schnauzer, help is on hand. Schnauzers are generally a non-shedding breed and will require a fair amount of grooming to get rid of dead hair.
strata
First Name: Alan
Dog #1: Lexi
is a: P/S Mini Bitch
Born: 12 Apr 2020

Novice - Help Please

Post by strata »

Hello everyone. I joined the forum back in March before i purchased a puppy and after taking some good advice from Leigh we now have a PS little girl 9 weeks old, she's lovely.
Being a complete novice, may i please ask for advice on the following;
Lexi has a really nice sheen to her coat and i am keen to maintain the colour so i would like to strip Lexis coat rather than clip (Previously had Borders so familiar with the procedure). I've purchased the Red Mikki knife and a Mars 326 stripping knife and I have used both knives on Lexi in a gentle fashion on her coat every day, just pulling through the coat (knives flat) but i am not sure whether i am causing damage to the coat due to the cutting as the knives seem really sharp. Should i be dulling these knives or, are they already dulled at source?
Lexis coat colour is P&S but currently a lovely Jet Black on her back and sides. Is this just the colour as a puppy and will change lighter once stripped, also when will the coat be likely ready for stripping?

Alan
Oscar 12345
First Name: Julie
Dog #1: Oscar RIP Sweety
is a: P/S Mini Dog
Born: 21 Dec 2002
Dog #2: Otto
is a: B/S Mini Dog
Born: 04 Jul 2017

Re: Novice - Help Please

Post by Oscar 12345 »