rehoming from kennel to house

If you have recently taken in a rescue Schnauzer or rehomed a Schnauzer and need some advice, then please feel free to ask here. Whether it be about integrating your new dog into your home, health or behavioural issues, someone is sure to be able to help.
swtimtam
First Name: Sue

rehoming from kennel to house

Post by swtimtam »

Hi all
This is my first time posting because this is the first time in 30 years I have had a dog. We are bringing home a lovely male schnauzer who was part of a breeding program. His owner decided to get out of the business and moved away from the breeding farm 2 months ago. She was really his only "person". Her son has been feeding him since then and the dog has developed a bit of attachment to him but now he will be transitioning to our family. So poor guy has really been through the wringer in terms of losing his people.
He has always lived in a outdoor kennel and usually had other dogs in the same space (large fenced area with shed) but he will now be living inside in our home with no other dogs. Any advice on this kind of transition? Has anyone else been through something like this? I'd love to hear how things went.
Thanks!
zeta1454
First Name: Leigh
Dog #1: Magic
is a: P/S Mini Bitch
Born: 20 Apr 2010
Dog #2: Trilby
Born: 15 Mar 2012
Dog #3: Pip
Born: 21 Feb 2014

Re: rehoming from kennel to house

Post by zeta1454 »

Hi Sue and welcome to the Forum :-)

I have no experience of such a traumatic rehoming situation but there are some Forum members who have rehomed former puppy farm dogs and may be able to give you some specific advice.

It is very possible that this is going to be a long term, slow transition with an adult dog and will need huge amounts of patience on your part as he adjusts to a home life. Some things such as house training may be an issue, fear of household noises and even the confines of the home. Anxiety and other mental / emotional issues are also likely due to his disruptive past.